Independent Review Committee (IRC)

The Independent Review Committee (IRC) shall be consisting of four members comprising of retired executives of the rank of General Manager or above of Public Sector Banks / Public Sector Insurance Company / Public Sector Financial Institutions / Reserve Bank of India / IRDAI or retired IAS / other central services executives is in place to address the grievances of the Policyholders especially relating to claims.

Current members of IRC:

- a. Justice Dr. Pratibha Upasani, Retired Judge, Bombay High Court
- b. Shri P. K. Dash, IAS (Retd.).
- c. Shri D. P. Mohapatra, ITS (Ex. Addl. DGFT)
- d. Shri Rajeev Dewal, Senior Adviser- Legal, Indian Banks Association.

Terms of Reference of IRC:

- a) All the complaints disposed by the ACGC and further represented.
- b) Any other case as may be decided by the CMD.
- c) Claims rejected by the IRC may be placed before the IRC for a review of its decision if subsequent developments in the case justify a change in IRC's original decision.

The IRC's decision will be recommendatory in nature. Further, in case the Head Office Claims Committee (HCC) disagrees with recommendation of the IRC and finally rejects the claim/grievance of customer, the matter would be reported to the Board of Directors for information.

Periodicity of the Meetings:

The IRC will meet as and when required depending upon the need/ urgency.